article,Book

Mar 26, 2023

2 min read

Book review: A place for us By Fatima Farhan Mirza

the best books I've read so far in 2023

Hello lovelies, Ramadan Kareem to all Muslims in the world!

I haven't been as active as I'd hoped to be, but here I am.

Today I'll be giving you a review of one of the best books I've read so far in 2023.

Enjoy!

A place for us by Fatima Farhan Mirza is one of my favourite books of 2023 so far, way out of my usual genre of choice, but amazing nonetheless!

This book has such a special place in my heart, all because of the story, and how much I can relate in some ways and how far the author dragged us, the readers, into a world that is so realistic in terms of its themes.

The theme of identity and hybridity was so apparent in this book, and it was all shown through a series of events that made the storyline much more complicated, yet extremely interesting.

Within the novel, the story is being told from all the main characters’ points of view, which really helps the reader to understand, and have a better scope while reading; to understand the family dynamics, the reality of a Muslim family living in the USA, individuals who think about their lives, and in the middle of a journey of self exploration, exploring their identity, where they belong, how to navigate life…

The novel definitely evokes feelings of love, loss, grief, regret, wistfulness, and awareness of one’s self!, and the surroundings…

What I found most disappointing, but not repulsing whatsoever, was the ending of the novel, which -no spoilers here- made my eyes bowl and made my heart jump out of place, and awoken feelings of sadnss, yet acceptance of the reality of the situation!

This is definitely amongst my recommendations list this year, because honestly it will be a journey to read such a precious book, and it will most certainly raise questions in your head, and push you to think more critically and more analytically…

Stay Safe.

Share this blog

My latest writing

The stories we read influence the stories we tell ourselves.

article,testemonials

Client Testimonial: Jawairia Ali, Author of Days of Revenge and The Royal Bet

She's unhinged... I think I hit the jackpot with this one... What are you tallking about? You might ask...

article,Book

Swoon Worthy Romance: An Author Interview with Trinity Lemm on The Puck Arrangment

Sports Romance is a very hot and bothered side of the Romance books industry that most of us love because of the brilliance of an author making the FMC wear the MMC's Number and name plastered on the back of their jersey...

article

Bookstagram: The Line Between Reality and Fiction

As you can probably tell from the title, I will be talking about Bookstagram, not Instagram, but Bookstagram…

article,Book

2024 Bookish List: My January books

As per usual, new year new me, bla bla bla… But this year I decided; I like myself the way I a. So, it’s a New Year new books... And who doesn’t love those?

Contact me

I’m always looking to start new conversations. To kick off a new project, enquire about a service or to simply just get in touch, please use my contact details below.

Stay in the Loop

* indicates required
This website uses cookies. Learn More